Home - Pet Emergencies & Medical Info - The Hidden Dangers of Christmas

Pets Christmas Dangers

 

Christmas pets

The hidden dangers of Christmas: Hong Kong vets warn of increased risks to pets

 

With Christmas fast approaching, veterinarians in Hong Kong are bracing themselves for an increase in pet medical emergencies.  Dr Benjamin Trout from the Animal Emergency Centre (AEC) explains: "During the Christmas period pet owners introduce a host of Christmas related items into the home including decorations, plants and foods that can potentially cause great harm to their pets.  Every Christmas we see multiple instances of pets with medical conditions ranging from bloat, pancreatitis and toxicity as owners are unaware of the potential dangers of these items."

 

Hidden dangers of Christmas plants

 

One of the most common Christmas related problems seen in the AEC is poisoning due to ingestion of poisonous plants.  Many of the plants we associate with the holiday period are quite toxic to pets. 

One of the most dangerous is the lily, which is extremely toxic to cats, but surprisingly enough, not toxic to dogs at all. Owners who suspect their cats have ingested lilies should seek medical attention immediately as life threatening kidney failure may result if not treated quickly.

The ever popular Poinsettia is seen all over Hong Kong and ingestion will commonly cause mild gastritis, including vomiting and diarrhoea. Other Christmas plants such as holly, mistletoe and Christmas trees can also all cause unpleasant vomiting and diarrhoea if eaten. Vets advise that if your pets are prone to chewing things around the house that these items be placed well out of reach of mouths and paws.

Wrapping ribbon can be a particular hazard for cats, who often enjoy playing with (and eating) discarded pieces of string they find around the house. These can get stuck in the stomach and intestines and in many cases need to be surgically removed.

 

Toxic treats

 

Pet owners are usually well educated when it comes to knowing what their pets can and can't eat, however unfortunately pets don't usually understand these rules. It's not uncommon for over eager dogs to jump onto a bench or table and devour any unsupervised treats. Chocolate is a particular danger to pets, and overdose can result in tremors, seizures and in severe cases, death.  In general, the darker the chocolate, the more toxic it is. If an owner suspects their pet has ingested chocolate, they should contact their vet immediately. 

Other toxic foods include alcohol, coffee, tea, onions and garlic.

Although these dangers are out there, pet owners are reminded that it is Christmas and every member of the family (including the dogs and cats) can be included in the holiday celebrations in a safe and fun way. Turkey is low fat and fine for pets in small quantities.  And it's a great excuse to buy your pet some new toys that will provide welcome distraction from all the new plants and decorations around the house.

During the holiday period many vet clinics are closed or have reduced working hours so pet owners are advised to keep the website and phone number of a 24 hour emergency clinic in an easily accessible location for any surprises during the holiday period.

首頁 - 寵物急症及醫療資訊 - 獸醫提醒 聖誕期間寵物面臨更高風險

 

noalt

獸醫提醒 聖誕期間寵物面臨更高風險

 

臨近聖誕節,香港的獸醫們正為寵物醫療緊急事故加緊準備。動物緊急醫療中心(AEC) 的 本·特魯醫生解釋:"聖誕期間寵物主人會購入大量與聖誕有關的物品,包括裝飾品、植物和食品,這些物品或會對寵物造成巨大的傷害。每逢聖誕我們都會遇到很多比如是腹部腫脹、胰腺炎和中毒等等的寵物醫療事故個案,而寵物主人並不知道這些物品的潛在風險。"

 

聖誕季節常見植物的潛在危險

 

聖誕期間,動物急救中心最常遇到攝食有毒植物所引起的中毒情況。很多在假期間使用的植物對寵物而言非常有毒性。

其中一種最危險的植物是百合花,對貓來說這是劇毒植物,但令人驚訝的是百合花對狗卻沒有毒性。那些懷疑自己的貓攝取了百合花的主人應立即為您的寵物尋求醫療看護,如得不到及時治療或會引至腎衰竭, 對生命構成威脅。

曾於香港流行一時的聖誕紅,如寵物攝取了它可能會導致輕微胃炎,包括嘔吐和腹瀉。其他聖誕節植物,比如冬青樹、槲寄生和聖誕樹等也會引起寵物嘔吐和腹瀉。獸醫建議,如果您的寵物有咀嚼房間周圍東西的習慣,那麼您應該將這些東西放置在它們嘴和爪子觸及不到的地方。

包裝帶對經常愛玩(吃)房間裏的廢棄繩索的貓而言有特別危險。這些東西可能會卡在貓兒腸胃,並且大多數情況下需透過手術才能取出。

 

呈毒性之零食

 

寵物的主人通常都受過良好的相關知識培訓,瞭解自己的寵物能吃什麼、不能吃什麼,然而,寵物自己通常都不瞭解。活潑的狗跳到凳子或桌子上食用沒人看管的食物,這樣的情況是很常見的。朱古力是寵物致命的毒藥,過量食用會導致顫抖、抽搐,嚴重情況下甚至會導致死亡。一般來說朱古力的顏色越深對寵物的毒性越大。如果寵物主人懷疑自己的寵物已經攝取了朱古力,那麼請立即聯繫獸醫。

其他有毒的食物包括酒精、咖啡、茶、洋蔥和大蒜。

雖然存在這些危險因素,但聖誕節姐期間,寵物主人還是應該和每位家庭成員(包括狗和貓)一同享受美好的聖誕時光。火雞的脂肪含量較低,是可以讓寵物少量食用。而為寵物們買些新玩具,可以將它們的注意力從房屋周圍的新植物和裝飾品中分散開來。

節日期間許多的獸醫診所會暫時停止營業或是縮減工作時間,所以建議寵物主人保存附近24小時緊急診所的網站和電話號碼,以便應付假期間的突發狀況。

 

動物緊急醫療中心

 

動物緊急醫療中心位於香港島,每年365天、全天候24小時,隨時準備處理所有寵物的突發事件。電話2915 7979。